2024 County Tier Designation Release

The 2024 County Tier Rankings have been released by the NC Department of Commerce with Mitchell and Wilkes counties ranking as Tier 1 and with Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Watauga, and Yancey counties ranking as Tier 2 counties.

The North Carolina Department of Commerce annually ranks the state’s 100 counties based on economic well-being and assigns each a Tier designation. This Tier system is incorporated into various state programs to encourage economic activity in the less prosperous areas of the state.

The 40 most distressed counties are designated as Tier 1, the next 40 as Tier 2 and the 20 least distressed as Tier 3.